Welcome to the Faculty of Dental Sciences of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, the second Faculty of Dental Sciences in Sri Lanka. It was established in December 2021 as the ninth faculty of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura which is the largest University in Sri Lanka in terms of student numbers. In keeping with the University’s vision – “Prosper Lives Through Education”, we aim to provide a Dental education programme of the highest standard for the next generation in the Dental profession, who will be skillful, technologically advanced, generously motivated to serve the people with compassion, dedication and professionalism.

The Bachelor of Dental Surgery program conducted by the faculty is a five year programme in par with global standards of dental education. Synchronized system based curricular delivery and subject based assessments are designed to facilitate students to excel according to their individual learning styles by providing a platform for learner and student centric experience. The preclinical phase (BDS I) will be taught together with the medical students of the Faculty of Medical Sciences with only Dental Anatomy taught separately during this phase.

Our University has ample space, is easily reachable, and has excellent facilities for educational and extracurricular activities.

We warmly welcome you to the Faculty of Dental Sciences of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura.

Senior Professor Surangi G. Yasawardene
Dean and Senior Professor of Anatomy

Telephone : +94 77 6522822
E-mail : dean.fds@sjp.ac.lk