Faculty of Dental Sciences was declared open by Senior Professor Sampath Amaratunge, Chairman, University Grants Commission and Senior Professor Sudantha
Twenty seven students, Academic Year 2020/2021 were enrolled to follow the BDS degree programme at the Faculty of Dental Sciences,
The first batch of Dental Students, Academic Year 2020/2021 were welcomed to the Faculty on 26th January 2022.  At the virtual welcome ceremony

Welcome message from the Faculty of Dental Sciences

Welcome to the Faculty of Dental Sciences of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, the second Faculty of Dental Sciences in Sri Lanka. It was established in December 2021 as the ninth faculty of the University of Sri Jayewardenepura which is the largest University in Sri Lanka in terms of student numbers. In keeping with the University’s vision – “Prosper Lives Through Education“, we aim to provide a Dental education programme of the highest standard for the next generation in the Dental profession, who will be skillful, technologically advanced, generously motivated to serve the people with compassion, dedication and professionalism.

Read more…



Find student facilities in our directory


e-version of documents for the dental students


Browse cloud-based store to find information


Browse photos of past conferences and events

Dental Faculty Opening Ceremony

Senior Prof. Sudantha Liyanage, Vice Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura

Dental Education in Sri Lanka

The Dental Education in Sri Lanka commenced in 1943 in Colombo in the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Ceylon as the Department of Dental Surgery. Due to lack of space for expansion, it was moved to Peradeniya in 1954. However, the pre-clinical subjects continued to be taught at the Faculty of Medicine, Colombo because a medical faculty was not established at Peradeniya at that time.

With the establishment of the Faculty of Medicine at Peradeniya in 1961, the Dental School became a department of the Faculty of Medicine, Peradeniya, and the BDS Degree was awarded by the University of Ceylon, Peradeniya.

Read more…